The ultimate Grand Piano - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Planars & Exotics

Planars & Exotics ESL's, planars, and alternative technologies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th April 2011, 09:51 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default The ultimate Grand Piano

Hello Gentleman and Gentlewomen,

I am an audiophile and pianist, and am looking to build the ultimate digital piano in a grand piano shell. The source will be from high quality keyboard (Roland V Piano seamlessly integrated to appear as OEM). I am seeking advice and guidance on how to effectively representing an accurate reproduciton of a real piano. I do not wish to use conventional speakers, as the cross over point scares me with phasing issues, etc.

My budget is <$10,000, so ribbons are out... I do have access to a full shop and regard myself as talented with tools, so Iím up for just about anything.

I would like to hear your feedback on what type of speaker system you guys would recommend I construct to achieve maximum realism. On a side note, to fulfil my curiosity, I have a set of transducers on the way (Clark Synthesis Platinum) that I would like to attempt to mount to the existing soundboard. I would like to try this, as it almost makes sense to play a piano through a piano... you know? I have my reservations of this going well, but at least I will have a pair of transducers to play with if it doesnít work out. Thoughts on this would be appreciated!

Would ESLís work? I am not familiar with the level of tension of the diaphragm, and if a panel could successfully be laid flat without big complications arising from sagging. Also, would the volume levels of ESLís high enough to match that of a real piano?

What other suggestions would you have? What would you guys do? I am hungry for your input!

Thanks in advance!

Robert
Old 9th April 2011, 11:20 AM   #2