Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Planars & Exotics

Planars & Exotics ESL's, planars, and alternative technologies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th March 2011, 12:08 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Quad ESL-63 fault, please help

Hi,
I've a pair of Quad ESL-63; they sound very well, but one of them gives a lower sound (about -10 dB) than the other.
I've no experience with those loudspeakers, have you an idea about the reason of the fault ? I tried at different frequencies and levels, and the symptom is the same.
Thanks in advance.
Old 24th March 2011, 12:18 PM   #2
ramallo is offline ramallo  Europe
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Skype™ to ramallo
Probably you have a failure on a high voltage supply, this link can help you
Old 24th March 2011, 01:20 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks for the reply.
But I forgotten to tell that when power supply is "off", the ouput volume of the defect loudspeaker is also lower than the other. Naturally, there's a big distorsion without the high voltage but the difference of volume stays.
Old 24th March 2011, 01:49 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Most likely you have a dead panel that's pulling down the high voltage....
Old 24th March 2011, 02:13 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

When I disconnect the power supply, sounds remains a very long time. When I try to find a defect pannel with my ear near the grill cloth, I don't find any difference on any pannel...
Old 24th March 2011, 05:49 PM   #6
diyAudio Member