An idea for a wide dispersion ESL - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Planars & Exotics

Planars & Exotics ESL's, planars, and alternative technologies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th November 2007, 05:38 AM   #1
jerko is offline jerko  United States
diyAudio Member

Default An idea for a wide dispersion ESL

I'm new to ESLs, so I'm not sure if someone has done this before, but I have an idea for an ESL that would have good dispersion characteristics.

The wavelength of a 20 kHz sound wave at sea level is about 1.7 cm, so the idea is to have the stator broken up into multiple rings which are each about that half that wide (or whatever gives the desired dispersion pattern). The signal sent to each ring would be delayed by the time it takes sound from the center of the panel to get to that ring (digitally delayed, before it is ever amplified) and then sent to separate amplifiers (one for each ring).

I know the Quad ESL had something like this (except without separate amps), but my understanding is that the delays and the rings were spaced too far apart to give good dispersion at high frequencies.

I know it could work, but I am not sure about the various factors that would possibly need to be worked out (and I would like to hear if anyone has tried to). For instance, each ring needs an amp, so for a reasonably sized panel this could get expensive quickly, and each ring needing its own transformer just compounds the problem. Is it possible to make a class-D amp that would put out the voltage necessary for an ESL without having to use a transformer?

Another problem is what to make the stators out of. Printed circuit boards seem to be almost ideal, but getting a large one made is prohibitively expensive. I'm really at a loss on this question.