Homemade Esl Cost???

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
OK-I am an amateur- But I am a huge ESL enthusiast. I currently have a Martin Logan reference system and the ability they have to pick up the nuances is enough to hypnotize me.

Now, I want to make my own ESL's for my bedroom and mostly just for fun. I figure they will sound better than most market speakers I could buy for the same price.

The problem is...I dont know how much I should expect to pay. I have heard $90.00 all the way to $500.00+. At $500.00, my fun project would be to much considering I may simply fail and have to scrap it.

So, I am looking for the CHEAPEST way possible for my first project. After I complete it, I will have more confidence/experiance and will then embark on a "quality" ESL.

Any help is much appreciated. I am new to "fooling around" with electroncs.
WarrenO suggested this site to me if any of you know him.

Thank You,
Dominick in New Jersey

the cheapest way is to sacrifice efficency and save on the transfomer cost

get a lower voltage xfrmer and up it with a simple voltage multiplier circuit

the cost of the panels is minimal in comparison to the xfrmer cost

you can go as big, wide, difficult as you like... and cost will be fairly similar

the mylar is very cheap... the perforated steel is quite cheap and everything else is labor

cheap and reliable

To get started I agree don't worry too much about transformer cost as most old tube amp output transformers will work and probably surprise you with how well your new speaker will sound. You can always upgrade to your hearts content. High voltage supplies can be bought new and smaller than a soft pack of cigaretts for $60.00. You only need one to charge both diaphragms.