Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Planars & Exotics ESL's, planars, and alternative technologies

Stretched Wire Hybrid ESL Build
Stretched Wire Hybrid ESL Build
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th April 2018, 01:21 AM   #1
DriedChalk is offline DriedChalk  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Stretched Wire Hybrid ESL Build

Hello all,
For my high school senior project I will be building a pair of hybrid electrostatic speakers with the help of the techniques and designs by CharlieM.

I originally made a post back in February about building another pair of curved stats, but after some research I decided to make a stretched wire design as per CharlieM. Original Thread

I'm still a student so I don't have a lot of time dedicated to building these right now, but I get the month of May off to work exclusively on my senior project. I've already ordered most of what I need: Wire, Mylar, Subwoofers, Amps/PSUs, Glue, Tape, Resistors, etc.
Old 17th April 2018, 01:35 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

I've already received the subs (very beefy) and made test cabinets for them. I decided to go sealed as it was the closest to T/L I could get without making humongous cabinets. The plan is to use a MiniDSP 2x4 HD and a UMIK-1 for crossover and EQ (and more) functionality.
Just bought 2 Sure Electronics AA-AB32313 2x400 amps and power supplies to use to bi-amp the panel and subwoofer.
I had some difficulty getting the wire, but I eventually found a local supplier where I bought 1520 ft of 22AWG PVC insulated wire which when spaced out with 10TPI threaded rods will give me 42% open area.