The Thrill is Gone.. S-ESL Build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
OK, this dipole tower has me thinking again, I was looking at the possibility of using one in place of my transmission line, just toying with the idea for now.

There are so many drivers available for an application like this, but the last time I studied specs on them has been over 12 years.
Do any high-performance-to-cost candidates ring a bell right off the bat?
I was looking at FEW's thread where he uses the Dayton RS225-8 inch bass/mids that measure quite well, I was hoping that they made a 6.5 in that line, but if there is one, I couldn't find it.

Like I said, just toying with the idea for now. Using the drivers that FEW did would set me back over 600usd for 6 per side, then again, cost isn't the main consideration..hmmm...

I'll probably just concentrate on the panels for now, but wanted to throw this out there as a running consideration.

Cheers

Last edited:
OK, I re-read bengal's thread due to his panel size being similar, and think I have a definite plan, but want to run a few things by everyone.
Proposed panels would be 15x60 inches (380x1525mm), this should be plenty big area-wise, and loud with a 200-250Hz x-over. I thought about 150Hz but think I'll stay at 200-250 for several reasons.
Eleven wires per inch seems standard with the last few builds, I think I'll stick with that.
.0625" also seems good for spacing, check.
For segmentation, I'm thinking Configuration 2 for ease of construction.
Speaking of construction, I've lots of baltic birch, and think this should be strong and stable enough for frames/slats.

Would more in the way of step-up to get healthy SPL be advisable? (I'm assuming) ...as my current step-up is 75:1 IIRC.

I ran some simulations, and this is what it spit out for 150, 200, and 250Hz/fL. (see attachments)