About to take the ESL plunge

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am a somewhat experienced speaker builder, building/designing several sets of conventional loudspeakers (including my most recent set that uses an active crossover).

Been getting the speaker building itch again and decided I would like to try a set of ESL's.

Just started doing my research on this and as such been reading Ken Seibert's and Jazzman's sites on their projects.

I'm looking to do the wire stator version. I would like build a full range version (or at the least get good, flat response down to 80hz) but not sure what size panels I would need to achieve that.

Just wondering if anyone has any advice for me as a newbie to ESL's?

Hi,

I am a somewhat experienced speaker builder, building/designing several sets of conventional loudspeakers (including my most recent set that uses an active crossover).

Been getting the speaker building itch again and decided I would like to try a set of ESL's.

Just started doing my research on this and as such been reading Ken Seibert's and Jazzman's sites on their projects.

I'm looking to do the wire stator version. I would like build a full range version (or at the least get good, flat response down to 80hz) but not sure what size panels I would need to achieve that.

Just wondering if anyone has any advice for me as a newbie to ESL's?

With ESL's if we look at well established manufacturers like Martin Logan
and Quad ,they all curve the panel area.

Listening to ESL's that lack curving is very difficult and almost ridiculous.
You end up with extreme beaming, but with a curved panel excellent reproduction.

You should try to hear Quad ESL's and Martin Logans, to ascertain how
curving the panel is an essential requirement.
http://www.quadesl.com/pdf/quad_book.pdf

and a great video showing what is involved with