30 Driver CBT Line array 30 Fountek FE87 driversper array

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am just getting started on building a CBT. this will be my first big build. I am going to be doing shading using series and parallel connections and I will share my wiring diagram on here shortly. feel free to use it. My only question is more a matter of design of the array of speakers themselves. I am wanting to run two rows of 15 speakers for the array should i run them simply side by side or would there be any benefit to running them staggered?

Example:

xx
--
xx
--
xx
or
x-
-x
x-
-x
x-
-x

Last edited:
Did you ever get around to building this? The idea of using series parallel for shading is interesting, if it could be made to work as intended (by mr. keele)

I would strongly recommend *not* doubling up the rows and especially not staggering them. That will mess up the horizontal dispersion.

I'm also interested in these drivers for line arrays, so please update us on your progress! :)

Dave Smith has done a lot of work on arrays. He posts here as "speakerdave." Mr Smith has worked on arrays from Snell and McIntosh, and worked on projects at JBL. I believe he worked alongside with the CBT inventor (Keele) at JBL.

Mr Smith has posted good results when using 'log shaded arrays.'

Log shaded arrays and CBT arrays are not the same thing, but it's occurred to me that it should be possible to combine them.

Here's how this works. This is a 'laymans interpretation', so Mr Smith or Mr Keele might correct me here.

Having said that, here goes: