Driving ESL headphones - some questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am pretty new in ESL designs and recently played around with some DIY-transducers.
My very first experiments were driven by the simple "step up transformer"-method
that soon blew my test amp because I wanted some more bass out of that (too small) transformer :eek:

Nonetheless, now I have got some spare time and so I want to improve my design by building a direct drive system.
But there's a question that I can't find a simple answer to it:
is there any difference in driving the ESL's stators rather than the diaphragm?
Most of the designs I have seen by now bias the diaphragm and drive the stators phase-inverted.
But to me both driving options seem equal :confused: Plus, driving the diaphragm rather than the stators only needs one amplifier.

So, can anybody tell me the difference or (dis-)advantages?

Hi there!

It has been shown that by using a very high resistance coating on the diaphgarm and driving the stators lowers the THD especially for the lower frequency's.
This is called constant charge mode.

There have been many discussions on the ups and downs of using a direct drive amplifiers in these threads.

The main and biggest issue involved is the use and safety of such high voltages as they are in the order of 10 to 20 times more than what is required to drive a smaller sized headphone unit.

All else aside, I am all for designing a DD system for ESL's as I have been pursuing this goal for the better part of the last 10 years or so.

But, DO BE VERY AWARE of the level of voltages involved, and, ESPECIALLY the HIGHER CURRENTS at those increased voltages that is Required!!

The biggest issue is finding output devices with good characteristics at audio frequency's using such high voltages.