ESL hybrid

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi! i have been planing to build an ESL design, and i've chosen to start with the "jazzman" design, because it's pretty well explained, and i've no experience with ESL, so, it's a pretty good starting point, but, i am really on a tight budget.

With the budget in mind, i was planing to buy this transformer:

Antek - AN-0506

but... it's been discontinued, and it has been replaced by this one:

Antek - AS-0506

how much will affect this change in the ESL?

Thanks!

I would suggest not to use the AS version or any shielded version of a transformer for ESL use.

1. The electrostatic shield adds capacitance to the transformer this helps to lower the impedance even more as seen by the amplifier at the higher frequency's, This is not good!

2. The insulation between the shield and the HV winding is inadequate for ESL use as it is just some Aluminium tape applied right on top of the HV winding around the circumference of the transformer with only one (maybe two in some spots) layers of 2mil mylar tape.

Upon a core saturation test of a AS-1206 this insulation had failed shorting about 7 or 8 turns of the top layered winding Shorting the transformer.
Luckily I was able to disassemble the transformer and repair the winding and continue to do more testing.
Although it is now modified from its original state I have the the same amount to LV winding turns on it using some speaker wire.

I will be posting some pictures of this later on tonight sometime here,

Testing Your Transformer and Using the Transformer Test Jig

As I get going I will be explaining what the parameters mean and explore someways to improve the transformers performance and different configurations.

jer :)

Last edited:
I would suggest not to use the AS version or any shielded version of a transformer for ESL use....