Can U identify these electrostatic units ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello
I was a speaker designer for Cambridge Audio in my youth, working on R50's and R40's and newer designs.
In my earlier student days (early 70's) my first purchased speakers were a pair of hybrid electrostatics that included the upper mid to high end units pictured here and sourced from a dealer located in North London suburbs (I think).
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.
[sorry, original picture location no longer available - see post #33 for new picture]
I quickly blew the bass units at a student party but the electrostatics were incorporated into subsequent builds over many years. They still sound superb and so I cannot bring myself to throw them away. However I am very curious to know more about them and their design principles. For example there are only two wires, which go to the stators - none to the membrane driver. They are about 8 inches 20cm high.
Can anyone provide any information?
I have the wiring diagram if anyone is interested in seeing it.
Many thanks.

Last edited:
Sure, wiring diagram would be good.

If it has no HV supply then it is an electret type speaker - the diaphragm's molecular make up causes it to keep a charge, ie. self biased.

Pioneer had some tweeters that worked on this principle.

If it has HV, then it is likely a single ended ESL, less linear than P-P types, but they can work. There wre some German units, maybe Grundig or another famous brand I can't recall that made some 2" or so round tweeters like that...

The curve is interesting, what is being done to maintain the diaphragm separation??

_-_-bear

Sure, wiring diagram would be good.

If it has no HV supply then it is an electret type speaker - the diaphragm's molecular make up causes it to keep a charge, ie. self biased.