Acoustat 2+2's

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey Everyone new here. Just posted to the Subwoofer forum and wanted to post here as well because I'm seeing a lot of information on these great speakers.

I own a pair purchased brand new back in 85. (I think it was around 85 anyway my memory is getting bad) Got um from Boulder Sound Gallery in Boulder Colorado if we have anyone from Colorado around might remember. Good old days.

I love these speakers and to my ear they sound as good now as back when I first bought them.

I tried MANY amplifiers and found the best (within my budget) for overall musicality an Audio Research Classic 60 which I've been driving them with for over 20 years or so. I'm in love with the Classic 60 although my second fav. was a Threshold S-300. Drove them louder but just not with that sweet midrange of the tubes.

I use my 2+2's with a pair of subwoofers X-over 120hz 48db I built from Marchand Electronics (XM16)

Anyway at 25 years old I'm looking to perhaps check into new caps & also replacing that wire-resistor for adjusting high frequencies and or anything else I can find here that other 2+2 owners recommend.

I did find a place in az which sells socks. Already got quote for my Ivory ones 180 so I'm going to order those. At first they said they only had black but emailed me later saying they could do the Ivory.

Anyway thanks for listening and any advise much appreciated. Mean while I'll continue searching and reading what I can find.

Mark