Acoustat Answer Man is here

Hello Audio Enthusiasts! Some of you may know my work on www.audiocircuit.com, where for many years I have been helping to advise Acoustat owners. I was an engineer and manager with Acoustat, starting when the David Hafler Co bought Acoustat out of bankruptcy, right up to the very end of US production under Rockford Corp ownership (sad day that was!). So I thought I'd lend a hand here, too, because I LOVE Acoustats and want to help as many owners as possible to keep their Acoustats running for many years to come. I don't sell parts or do repairs, but my advice is FREE! So let me know how I can help YOU with your ACOUSTAT's! (And this being a DYI crowd, I don't mind discussing modifications to the speakers.)

Andy Szabo

Reactions: 2 users
Hi, Andy! I've got some panels in my garage waiting for me to get time to do a rebuild (diaphragms went bad due to curious 6 year old and the wires are all starting to come loose). Any rebuild suggestions will be appreciated. I have some thin films of several different types of materials, capability to produce more, a corona treater, and can formulate conductive paint, but redoing the wires looks to be a loooooong project....

I was an engineer and manager with Acoustat, starting when the David Hafler Co bought Acoustat out of bankruptcy, right up to the very end of US production under Rockford Corp ownership (sad day that was!)....

Andy Szabo

Hello AcoustatAnswerMan,

Do you happen to know the details of what exactly was changed when the transformers were updated to "Medallion"?

1) Turns ratio? wire size? winding geometry? core size / core material? what exactly was updated.
2) What problems/deficiencies was the Medallion update trying to correct?

Thanks in advance for any info you can share.