Martin Logan SL3 = dead => help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I didn't want to trash someone elses post, I'm new to the whole forum thing. But I share Steve M's sentiments.
I took a second look at your original post. Whats happening is that the power supply is charging up, and once it reaches a certain voltage (it only takes a few seconds), its arcing, and the process starts over. The volume is low because the panels arent charging properly. Somewhere the insulation between the wire that charges the panel, and one of the wires that carries the signal, has been compromised, and the electricity is jumping across. You need to find out where this is happening. The spark will be visible. If you cant see it from the outside, you are giong to have to get inside. Unplug it for 30 minutes before you go to work on it, to allow the charge to dissipate. If I recall correctly, the sl3 has a big wood piece on the back with screws all the way around. Is this correct?

I also agree with nac134. You need to read the beginning of the post to understand what is the problem here. Hence why I suggest using this none intrusive test to see if the static charge does not reach the membrane. The test is audible which will allow you to hear where the discharge is happening the fastest. Any discharged area will produce little or no sound. The other areas will sound normal (with the music playing). Sometimes you need to hear what you can’t see.

It's not the stators you are going borrow the charge from, but the statically charge membrane. The stators on the ML's are very well insulated and I doubt anyone will get zapped from the stators unless they break the insulated coating. If anyone has been electrocuted from an electrostatic speaker it was not a Martin Logan as far as I have heard.