Nearfield ribbon?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am very interested in using a ribbon in a near field setup. Everyone I have talked too tells me not to do this. My question is why can you not implement this correctly. I am not a novice by any means but I am fresh to ribbon technology. It seems that everyone has an impression that it has to play to 20hz and has to play loud on another forum I visit. This is OK for car but in a home easy listening and moderate volume should work OK.

For example if the midbass I use has a 1-watt SPL of 90 and the ribbon has a 1-watt of 96, could an LPAD of – 9 db be enough to tame the ribbon?

The availability of ribbon headphones makes me question the fact that ribbons are not good for near field.

Drivers I will use are
Usher 8945A in each cabinet bass reflex
I will design the crossover around the drivers and test to tweak for better sound.

I would like to use one of the three. And I am leaning more on the Fountek NeoCD3.oms
Fountek NeoCD3.oms. I like the look of the driver and it appears to fit my needs.
http://www.madisound.com/catalog/pro...3d2d03384d1897

HIVI RT2-PRO I like this driver and I think it would fit my build. It looks great. The price may put this out of my budget. But I may swing the extra cost if needed.
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=297-404

HIVI RT8-II I love the way this driver looks but I think it may be a little much for my needs
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=297-413

The availability of ribbon headphones makes me question the fact that ribbons are not good for near field.