Linux Audio the way to go!?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
According to the specs, the UD-501 supports DoP (DSD over PCM) -
Product: UD-501 | TEAC
and there are at least two applications for Linux which will play DSD files (.dff or .dsf) and output them as DoP; MPD and HQPlayer.

The only other important point is that the UD-501's USB interface needs to be recognised by the ALSA snd-usb-audio driver as a valid UAC2 device. This has been reported as true and working here -
Teac Reference Line UD-501 USB DAC "DSD"
Later in that forum discussion you will see that DSD files and HQPlayer were involved.

I do have a serious problem with all those rip-off audiophile apps.

That includes JPLAY.

Amarra started at 1500$ not long ago!!! For an app that's very easily outclassed by a slightly optmized Linux setup.

These apps are not doing anything else than that what I've been promoting over here since 2007.

If you like feature lists, then sox, ffmpeg, mplayer etc. can't be beaten.

So. What's the point!?!? Don't tell me you bought that app!?!? :rolleyes:

I btw compared JPLAY with my SBTouch setup at a friends place. JPLAY doesn't come close ( in audiophile terms). It's not that bad though.

The main issue still - after all those years - is that not any DAC seems to be able to get rid of upstream issues.

Cheers

Last edited:
I do have a serious problem with all those rip-off audiophile apps.

I don't. I have a problem with unsupported claims in general but do not care if they come with a price tag or free. It is everyone's choice to pay. But the confusion and myths get spread regardless of the price.

These apps are not doing anything else than that what I've been promoting over here since 2007.

You have been arduously promoting many unproven myths since that time, along with things which actually make sense. Sorry.