How to remove PC "noise" using USB DAC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I have been using this site for a number of years but this is my first time posting. I couldn't find any similar threads so starting a new one. Hopefully this isn't a double up of an existing thread.

I have recently set up a pair of speakers to go with my PC (old monitor audio bookshelf speakers with a homebuilt gainclone amp). However most of the time there is a very annoying "buzzing" sound when using the PC as my source. This does not happen when using an ipod/phone as the source.

The buzzing noise is always there irrelevant of the volume level on the PC but is gone when I turn the amp volume to 0. I assumed this was from the (low quality?) onboard PC sound card, so I tried using a dragonfly black USB DAC. Unfortunately the buzzing noise is still there with little change! Moving the USB DAC to the front panel USB posts seems to reduce the buzzing volume slightly but it is still there. The frequency of the buzz will change based on the PC usage and seems to be tied to the FPS when in a game. I imagine this is electrical interference from the graphics card?

My question is has anyone else experience this problem and managed to fix it? I have been searching for solutions online and some have suggested a separate 5v power supply for a DAC. Others have suggested replacing the PC poser supply (mine is supposed to be a high quality Corsair unit already). I would love to be able to listen to music while using the PC.

I am in the process of modifying a USB cable to supply a separate 5V signal to the DAC. Will update if this improves the situation.

Thanks Kazap

I will try the 5v supply and see how that goes, my PC has two USB ports designed to run a USB device with external power so hopefully handshake isn't an issue. The USB isolator is cheep so will buy and see how that goes too.