Which USB DAC will suite my needs?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey Guys!

Complete newbie so apologies beforehand for stupid questions!

My current setup are a NAD C326BEE driving Monitor Audio Bronze BX2's. Good combination as the NAD help the lacking lows of the Monitor Audio's and the Monitor Audio's help the lacking highs of the NAD. I know...a lot better speakers available, but considering the money I paid for them it was a no-brainer.

Now for the shocker...I only have and listen to CD's and currently use an old Philips CD player which don't even have remote control. One of Philips' low end budget players so nothing special. Can't even find pictures on web so think it was only available in South Africa.

I would like to ripp my CD's to my laptop/pc and then use a USB DAC. In future I'll then buy music online. For me the best regarding this will be not to get up and change CD's as some of them were only bought for one song on them! Also setting up a playlist will be nice.

I have, what I consider, very little experience regarding DIY Audio. I studied electronics and also had practical courses regarding amps which included, building, testing, measuring with oscilloscope by injecting signals via signal generator. Bear in mind that this was many many moons ago so I'm a little rusted. But, as I loved the practical side of it then, I would love this to be DIY project.

My questions are...

1. Which USB DAC will suite my needs? I would prefer RCA out though.

2. Are higher than 16/44.1 really that much better and worth considering? I know CD's are 16/44.1, but seeing I'll be buying music online in the future I'll need to take this into account...I think.

3. What format do you guys store your music on your pc's...and does this effect/influence the USB DAC you use? FLAC and so on.

I obviously have a lot more Q's, but I'll keep it to these three for now.