Rasperry Pi and Hifiberry as media center

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I just received my Raspberry Pi 3 Model B, Hifiberry DAC+ Standard and the standard RPi PSU. I've been wanting to replace my midi tower PC (running a Creative X-Fi Platinum) because it makes too much fan noise, and it's quite big. Not that I will get rid of it - it's great if I ever want to watch 4.0 movies or whatever.

I read a couple of things about the Raspberry Pi's I2S and what have you, but I don't know. My background is electronic engineering, and I just don't see how it can be a problem with a PLL and fairly jitter-tolerant DAC, especially one from TI. I mean, even if jitter causes dynamic range to be limited to 95 dB, that's still a good spec, IMO.

Anyway, I haven't found much that actually measures this combination as being bad, so I got myself the kit and I managed to get it working fairly easily.

I tried OpenELEC, but it just didn't work as easily as I wanted. I started struggling to get the Pi to pick up the Hifiberry. There are other options, so I just wasn't keen to struggle. So I installed OSMC. I tried to configure it for Hifiberry via SSH, but that didn't work either, so I just checked the OSMC settings, and there is a nice configuration editor there, so I removed a line that said "dtparam=audio=off" and added configuration for "dtoverlay=hifiberry-dacplus". This config I added was already there, but it had something appended which I removed. Anyway, after a reboot, I selected the Hifiberry, no problems.

Useful links:
https://www.hifiberry.com/blog/configuring-osmc/
https://www.hifiberry.com/build/documentation/configuring-linux-3-18-x/