School Radio Solution - Please help asap. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > PC Based

PC Based Computer music servers, crossovers, and equalization

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th September 2013, 05:35 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default School Radio Solution - Please help asap.

Hey,

So I need some help with a dilemma at work.

Essentially I work in a school and we have an internet Radio Setup installed which consists of a basic Mixing Desk with;

A rack style, 2-disc cd player on the first two channels,

2 Mic inputs,

And four other faders ( Red, Blue, Green and Yellow ) which matched some software installed on the PC ( which was provided by the company who installed all the gear ).

Essentially, whatever song you load into the green cart on the PC-radio software, plays out through the green fader on the desk. Pretty straight forward.

However, the PC has gone bang hard drive / mobo smoked ( cover has ran out on all the equipment ) and now we need to work out a new solution to get the radio back up and running.
I'm thinking, do I replace the PC and hook it up to the current mixing desk until it decides to die aswell, or do I setup a new system from the ground up.

Being more of a music producer / Club DJ person, a lot of this multichannel soundcard stuff evades me. I have a USB mixing desk at home for my vocal recordings and input / output recording to PC, however when it comes to multi-track soundcards, I would like some help with what I need.

I'm aware I need a new computer with some sort of multi-output Soundcard that lets you have four carts with music loaded, essentially just like a radio station. But i'm kinda lost with which type to buy and will it work in the way I want it to.