Computer based static/noise? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > PC Based

PC Based Computer music servers, crossovers, and equalization

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th November 2012, 12:33 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Computer based static/noise?

As you can see, this is my first thread and I'm new to computer audio.

I am working off my own build and am experiencing a significant amount of static/noise from my speakers. The static isn't present when the speakers are plugged into my laptop, so I think the speakers are fine (Mackie MR5 MKII).

The static seems to correspond to my actions on the comp, like clicking, scrolling, loading a web page... is this my motherboard? Can the power supply cause static? I recently purchased an audio card - ESI Julia - and have the TRS line out connected to my speakers. I had hoped it was the auxiliary jack on my mobo but the static is even more present with the audio card.

Any general info/help/walk-through of how to eliminate the static would be extremely appreciated.

Thanks!
Old 16th November 2012, 06:20 AM   #2
Magsy is offline Magsy  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

You are running the PC at full volume, in both windows and the player right? Adjust volume on the speakers...
Old 16th November 2012, 06:35 AM   #3
freax is offline freax  Australia
diyAudio Member

Its either your keyboard/mouse if you have PS/2 keyboards, try and isolate the cables of the keyboard/mouse from your line out cable by at least a few centimetres. Consider getting a USB one. Gigabyte makes a nice USB keyboard and mouse that you could get for under $20 for both.

Are you using VGA output from your soundcard? if so try and use DVI.

Could be a faulty video card or sound card decoupling capacitor.