Computer based static/noise?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
As you can see, this is my first thread and I'm new to computer audio.

I am working off my own build and am experiencing a significant amount of static/noise from my speakers. The static isn't present when the speakers are plugged into my laptop, so I think the speakers are fine (Mackie MR5 MKII).

The static seems to correspond to my actions on the comp, like clicking, scrolling, loading a web page... is this my motherboard? Can the power supply cause static? I recently purchased an audio card - ESI Julia - and have the TRS line out connected to my speakers. I had hoped it was the auxiliary jack on my mobo but the static is even more present with the audio card.

Any general info/help/walk-through of how to eliminate the static would be extremely appreciated.

Thanks!

Its either your keyboard/mouse if you have PS/2 keyboards, try and isolate the cables of the keyboard/mouse from your line out cable by at least a few centimetres. Consider getting a USB one. Gigabyte makes a nice USB keyboard and mouse that you could get for under $20 for both.

Are you using VGA output from your soundcard? if so try and use DVI.

Could be a faulty video card or sound card decoupling capacitor.

From experience though I've found it to be the fault of cheap/shoddy manufacturing practices in the soundcard.

Volume sliders on my system are set to 1/2 way as a matter of practice, I strongly suggest that you keep the volume sliders on your PC as lonw as 1/2 way, maybe even lower, and just use your amplifier/speakers to do the amplifying and NOT your soundcard.

By putting them as high as possible you are also amplifying the noisefloor, so its good practice to simply keep them half way.

As a bare minimum I would suggest that you get a DAC and use digital/optical output from your PC, if this is financially possible.

Last edited: