Home-build mini stereo

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been doing some online research on building my own mini-stereo system. I would like the mini-stereo to do the following simple things:

1. Be operational all from a single 5"-7" LCD touch screen (no buttons, except power off/on) and remote control
2. Act as an alarm clock
3. Play music from USB or wifi network (no interest in AM/FM radio)

I have looked at a few options, like raspberry pi or mini-ITX, as a controller/motherboard connected to a decent DAC and have it powered by a class D amp. The speakers would be small 3" or 4" full ranges.

I am not a programmer, so I would need to find a bit of software that does the alarm clock and play music options.. all from a small touch screen.

The problem I have is their are lots of options, but pulling all the parts together looks tricky. I would love some guidance on my options.

If you go mini-ITX it would be very easy, free alarm clock and shutdown software can be downloaded and most motherboards support wake-on-lan and wake-at-(time of day). The computer and the amp can be powered from the same 12V power supply.

Finish with a USB touchscreen.

Sounds like the Chumby. Sony & Insignia make similar devices. (Sony Dash and Insignia NS-DP8CH came up when I searched eBay for Chumby just now.) You could find similar things lurking in liquidation stores, since this category of device hasn't been a huge success.

DVD players have more in them than an Apple TV and sell for under $20. Raspberry Pi is 1/3 the price of the Apple but can perform the same functions; just needs a remote control and power supply.

The Android PC has USB, so you could use a USB sound device, or presumably there's HDMI audio.