Trouble getting MPD db to update

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to VoyageMPD and attempting to sort out anomolies with MPD DB.
I use WAV files ripped with EAC on a WDLivebook NAS. I have mounted the NAS with CIFS and have mpd.conf pointed to the NAS for most of its files.

music_directory "/music1/Music"
playlist_directory "/music1/MPD/Playlists"
db_file "/music1/MPD/mpd.db"
log_file "/music1/MPD/mpd.log"
pid_file "/music1/MPD/mpd.pid"
state_file "/music1/MPD/mpdstate"

Voyage sees the files and they all have RW privileges.

root@voyage:/music1/MPD# ls -l
total 1984
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0 Apr 13 2012 Playlists
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6984 Apr 13 2012 bkmpd.db
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6984 Apr 11 2012 mpd.db
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1873479 Apr 14 2012 mpd.log
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 5 Apr 16 2012 mpd.pid
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 2180 Jan 2 11:06 mpdstate
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0 Apr 11 2012 sticker.sql
root@voyage:/music1/MPD#

I can see the music_directory in GMPC. After booting up, MPD searches the directory for about 5 mins and then the directory structure displays correctly and the WAV files can be played. (sound is excellent).

2 strange anomolies.

First, MPD only sees about 75% of the WAV files. In some cases 100% of files will show, in others every other file is missing even thought it is on the NAS.

Second issues is the db_file never updates. It still contains the list of songs that were on the usb stick I first put in the ALIX to test sound. When I removed the USB stick and set MPD to use /music/Music,