Using PC as server and storage-replacing NAS DNLA server - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > PC Based

PC Based Computer music servers, crossovers, and equalization

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd January 2011, 06:36 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Using PC as server and storage-replacing NAS DNLA server

I am new to using Pc as source. Please pardon my ignorance.
My Iomega 1Tb Home network drive finally passed away with all my files in it. http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/image.../frown.gifThis was second time disk failure with network hard drive. I am not going to repeat same mistake 3 times. http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/images/smilies/mad.gif
I am looking to use my retired Acer with Vista (Sata drive) as a music server / raid storage unit. It has gigabit ether net. I will be using my Denon network player or Beringer DCX 2496 as DAC's
My question is
1) Do I need a good sound card for Digital out to feed DCX 2496
2)Can I use Linux as OS rather than Win Vista?

Regards,
Old 18th January 2011, 07:56 AM   #2
gooki is offline gooki  New Zealand
diyAudio Member

1) not realy, asio for all can work on many budget sound chips with digital out
2) yes you can. xbmc is built on top of linux and has a good front end for music playback.
Old 23rd January 2011, 01:46 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I doubt the iomega is totally dead. I bet I could extract and save your data. Do you still have the drive?
Old 29th January 2011, 12:07 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

I had a good results with unRAID as NAS, you can just have the Denon browse the files on it. I use squeezebox, but it is the same idea, I think..

Jaz
Old 3rd February 2011, 06:15 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

I can only comment on 2)