High Distortion on Aleph 5

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

i have a question about the distortion of mine aleph 5. I've been working on the amp for a couple of years now slow but i finely am in the final stage,....i hope.
Last night i was at the lab of a colleague of mine and we've tested one of my mono aleph 5. And came to the conclusion that there is a nasty distortion when we are putting more like 21,1 Watt (13 V in 8 Ohm ) and that looks like this:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

It's about 0,025 % THD at 400Hz (nakamichi t-100)

At this point the distortion is building up to te point that the output is visable clipping at around 78 Watt ( 25 V in 8 Ohm ) then it looks like this:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

And another picture at 15 volts into 8 ohm where you can see the sharp edge of the distortion and that flank is at almost the bottom of the sine.

We tried finding out the problem here and i've searched the forum for a solution. i find that there is maybe a problem with R17 the 4,75K resistor in a thread for the aleph 30

aleph 30 thread

because i'm using a 2x30 volt tranny that gives about 38 á 40 Volt DC. is that maybe the problem that i have to change the R17 to a higer resistance ???

Here are some more pictures about my amp

Joined 2003
Paid Member
Very nice amps.
If I understand you correctly, you have about 0.025% distortion at 21.1Watt and the amp clips grossly at 78Watt.
Looking at the specs of the stock unit, the amp is only capable of giving 60 Watt and a distortion of 0.025% is about the lowest I've seen in the Pass Labs forum.
If this is correct, your amps are fine.
What's the distortion at say 55Watt?

/Hugo