F4 power amplifier - Page 61 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th May 2007, 11:23 AM   #601
Manu is offline Manu  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
Manu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Vienna, Ostrich
Do somebody knows if the Plitron's are availlable in Europe and where?
manuel
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 01:16 PM   #602
Jaac is offline Jaac  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Jaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Laren NH
Quote:
Originally posted by Manu
Do somebody knows if the Plitron's are availlable in Europe and where?
manuel
For Europe I advise

Amplimo also very good quality toroids. At Plitron they also sell amplimo stuff. And on request they will pot your transformer for a couple of bucks more.
__________________
The right tool for the right job, a very nice Solarboat || Ready for a groupbuy ? CLick
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 01:57 PM   #603
lykkedk is offline lykkedk  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark, Fredericia
Send a message via MSN to lykkedk
Hi.

I am currius if someone have a pcblayout, which fit for the R0 4/17/07 ? - There is some issue with the 'IN' connection etc... ?

Also i would be very pleased, if someone could explain how much 'preamp' it would take to drive the f4 in a full balanced dual-mono block (4 pcb's + 2 torrids 2x18v 500VA).
It's not that i did not read this thread, and the 'mate for f4' thread also, but there is so much talk about voltage-swing / db-gain etc... that i am a bit confused.

I had been listening to the f4 at Steenoe's placed (I also mentioned this earlier in this thread), and i am in no doubt, that this amplifier sounds very veery good, and that i really would like to build one myself. I through have a slight feeling, that i would have a problem with my speaker/preamp setup, which was discussed in the 'mate for f4 thread' too...

Well, i have not so much acknogledge about the db / voltage-sving things, so please be gentle, if someone would try to explain this to me !

Jesper
__________________
/// got to catch up again ///
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 02:21 PM   #604
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
My experience is that an ideal source will have balanced lines,
each of which is capable of 14 volts clean output into the
47 Kohm load.

I routinely use a Pass Labs X1 preamp, which has 14 dB of
gain and this works fine for me.

  Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 02:33 PM   #605
Variac is offline Variac  United States
diyAudio Editor
 
Variac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Francisco, USA
There we have it............. .........
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 02:37 PM   #606
diyAudio Member
 
jackinnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Llanddewi Brefi, NJ
Quote:
Originally posted by GRollins
You're assuming that the Antek is equivalent in quality. It's not, judging from what I've read. There's more to this than price.
Grey
Antek's transformers are from China -- I have used a half-dozen -- ergonomically they aren't the prettiest but they have really good regulation and are rated for continuous use. They are primarily used in CNC applications. If you want pretty use something else.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 03:09 PM   #607
lykkedk is offline lykkedk  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark, Fredericia
Send a message via MSN to lykkedk
Nelson Pass :

Quote:
I routinely use a Pass Labs X1 preamp, which has 14 dB of
gain and this works fine for me.
Thank's for helping me Nelson. I think i remember i once meassured my bosoz giving around 13db gain, but this is in a singleended setup only. I don't know about the voltage out in my bosoz, but 14v sounds normal to me i think.

Does the X1 deliver the db / voltage differently than my bosoz ?, and what is the difference (if any) between the X1 and X2 ?

Well i have some other issues with my bosoz. (Actually i think that my bosoz isen't cabable of driving my leachamp to the max.), And to be honestly i would really like to archive some more gain also, for the rest of my equipment. So maybe i should build another preamp before moving on with my f4-amplifier...

Jesper
__________________
/// got to catch up again ///
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 03:15 PM   #608
Manu is offline Manu  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
Manu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Vienna, Ostrich
Quote:
Originally posted by Jaac


For Europe I advise

Amplimo also very good quality toroids. At Plitron they also sell amplimo stuff. And on request they will pot your transformer for a couple of bucks more.

Thx
manuel
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 03:23 PM   #609
diyAudio Member
 
BrianDonegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TPA HQ
FWIW: Avel and Plitron also do some manufacturing in China. Not a bad thinkg, just a fact of life these days.
__________________
Twisted Pear Audio
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 03:30 PM   #610
Manu is offline Manu  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
Manu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Vienna, Ostrich
Quote:
Originally posted by Nelson Pass
My experience is that an ideal source will have balanced lines,
each of which is capable of 14 volts clean output into the
47 Kohm load.

I routinely use a Pass Labs X1 preamp, which has 14 dB of
gain and this works fine for me.

And what about an Aleph L (full active version)? Is it OK to drive a stereo F4?
Thx in advance
Manuel
Attached Images
File Type: jpg al_kl.jpg (89.1 KB, 1201 views)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:37 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2