F4 power amplifier - Page 56 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th May 2007, 05:18 PM   #551
jleaman is offline jleaman  Belgium
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Send a message via AIM to jleaman
Default Re: Re: Matched

Quote:
Originally posted by massimo


NO, they cannot.

Think about the P.S.: it's dual, it has a + and - rail. Thus you need N channel and P channel devices. It's mandatory for a push-pull circuit!

The only reason i asked is because my old N-Channel amplifier used the same configuration EXCEPT i used all IRFP240's and it worked 100% fine, i just wanted to make sure before i ordered them

Thank's for the help.

Jase
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 05:22 PM   #552
jleaman is offline jleaman  Belgium
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Send a message via AIM to jleaman
Just so people know or if wondering where to get matched sets of Fet's I am ordering mine from, this person.

http://tech-diy.com/hexfets.htm
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 05:28 PM   #553
massimo is offline massimo  Italy
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Milan, Italy
You can use an NPN + PNP circuit up to the driver section and then two NPN output devices. This tecnique, knonwn as "quasi-complementary" was used in the past when PNP power devices weren't available.
A great design using a similar circuit was the original version of the British Cyrus integrated amp (very good sound for that time),
but the F4 is different and I don't think you can drop directly in N channel only power mosfets.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 05:48 PM   #554
jleaman is offline jleaman  Belgium
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Send a message via AIM to jleaman
Quote:
Originally posted by massimo
You can use an NPN + PNP circuit up to the driver section and then two NPN output devices. This tecnique, knonwn as "quasi-complementary" was used in the past when PNP power devices weren't available.
A great design using a similar circuit was the original version of the British Cyrus integrated amp (very good sound for that time),
but the F4 is different and I don't think you can drop directly in N channel only power mosfets.

Thank you for clarifying that for me, learn something new every day.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 08:03 PM   #555
Netlist is offline Netlist  Belgium
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus
 
Netlist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
The Phase Linear is of course a totally different amp but since this schematic was easily available I pass it on as an example of a quasi-comp circuit so you have an idea.
http://members.aol.com/phasetek2/pl14.jpg

The mosfet citation is another, better example.
http://www.passdiy.com/pdf/citation.pdf

/Hugo
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 08:10 PM   #556
jleaman is offline jleaman  Belgium
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Send a message via AIM to jleaman
Quote:
Originally posted by Netlist
The Phase Linear is of course a totally different amp but since this schematic was easily available I pass it on as an example of a quasi-comp circuit so you have an idea.
http://members.aol.com/phasetek2/pl14.jpg

/Hugo

I used to have one of these, actually still miss it was a great powe-ramp, had some mods done to it too, Could sit in front of that led display for hours and watch it bounce around.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 09:58 PM   #557
jleaman is offline jleaman  Belgium
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Send a message via AIM to jleaman
F4 transformers,

Ive looked on ebay and have found a perfect pair of Antek transformers 400va @ 18-0-18 witch gives 18 * 1.4 = 25.2V dc for rails Is this to high for the F4 ? Im planning to use 2 transformers one per channel.

Thanks

Jase
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 10:02 PM   #558
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by jleaman
F4 transformers,

Ive looked on ebay and have found a perfect pair of Antek transformers 400va @ 18-0-18 witch gives 18 * 1.4 = 25.2V dc for rails Is this to high for the F4 ? Im planning to use 2 transformers one per channel.

Thanks

Jase

when you saw last time Papa's amp,where is 1,41 adequate factor ?

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 10:05 PM   #559
massimo is offline massimo  Italy
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Milan, Italy
18-0-18 V looks good and is the same value indicated by the Master the F4 schematics.
18 * 1.4 = 25.2 is purely theorical. Very often you get 1-2 V less.
If you get an higher voltage, you can always use a CRC or (better) a CLC filter to lower the voltage and the P.S. noise.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 10:14 PM   #560
jleaman is offline jleaman  Belgium
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Send a message via AIM to jleaman
Quote:
Originally posted by massimo
18-0-18 V looks good and is the same value indicated by the Master the F4 schematics.
18 * 1.4 = 25.2 is purely theorical. Very often you get 1-2 V less.
If you get an higher voltage, you can always use a CRC or (better) a CLC filter to lower the voltage and the P.S. noise.

I definatly agree, i just connected my fluke meter back from calibration and i checked our AC wall voltage of 122, then looked at my Alephs that i have now,

Inside is a 300Va with 16V secondary with calculations it should have rail voltages of

16 * 1.4 = 22.4V rails BUT when measuring them i see 20.1V so the voltage is a little dropped i guess.

So i think ill be ordering 2 of these 18-0-18's and use that.

Thanks for your help massimo.

Jase
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:31 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2