F4 power amplifier - Page 54 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th May 2007, 05:07 PM   #531
lykkedk is offline lykkedk  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark, Fredericia
Send a message via MSN to lykkedk
Are the drawing's / pcb-layout, from post#575 corrected, so that Q2 sits right ?, following the toplayer ?

Jesper
__________________
/// got to catch up again ///
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2007, 05:10 PM   #532
veteran is offline veteran  Poland
diyAudio Member
 
veteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Poland
Now all drawing presenting R0 version are correct because all of them point the same links on my www.
__________________
Simple audio solutions
blog.unisonus.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2007, 05:17 AM   #533
Darry is offline Darry  France
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Southwest
Veteran,

Why do you connect the diode D3 to +23V and D4 to -23V ?

In the schematic of the version R0 of M. Nelson Pass, D3 is connected to the drain of Q1, to R6 and P2. D4 is connected to the drain of Q2, to R7 and R5.

Darry
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2007, 01:16 PM   #534
doggy is offline doggy  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
doggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Princeton B.C.
Default RA

veteran

What is the purpose for the resistor "ra,rb"-10r and the 100nf ca,cb cap.?

thank-you
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2007, 06:34 PM   #535
veteran is offline veteran  Poland
diyAudio Member
 
veteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally posted by Darry
Veteran,

Why do you connect the diode D3 to +23V and D4 to -23V ?

In the schematic of the version R0 of M. Nelson Pass, D3 is connected to the drain of Q1, to R6 and P2. D4 is connected to the drain of Q2, to R7 and R5.

Darry
I'm basing on R0 schematic from 4/17/2007. Those diodes are directly connected to (-) and (+) rails.

Additional resistors if you want to have some small separation from output stage . Take a look at my schematic and if you don't want to use them - place jumpers.
__________________
Simple audio solutions
blog.unisonus.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2007, 07:02 PM   #536
diyAudio Member
 
Peter Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Send a message via AIM to Peter Daniel
A correction to initial schematic has been done here: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showt...00#post1185900
__________________
www.audiosector.com
“Do something really well. See how much time it takes. It might be a product, a work of art, who knows? Then give it away cheaply, just because you feel that it should not cost so much, even if it took a lot of time and expensive materials to make it.” - JC
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2007, 07:05 PM   #537
Darry is offline Darry  France
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Southwest
Veteran,

Sorry but on R0 schematic from 4/17/2007 enclosed, those diodes are not directly connected to (-) and (+) rails.

Darry
Attached Files
File Type: pdf f4r0.pdf (87.7 KB, 248 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2007, 07:34 PM   #538
Darry is offline Darry  France
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Southwest
Sorry Veteran, you have also reason.

I had the enclosed schematic R0, also from 4/17/2007 with different connection for D3 and D4 diodes.

Maybe that Nelson will say us what is the good schematic !!!

There is also a little difference between the schematic of the service manual and the R0 version.
On the service manual, the input is on R1 and for the R0 version, the input is between R1 and R2.
How to connect input ?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf f4r0.pdf (87.1 KB, 180 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2007, 11:29 PM   #539
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
While both these schematics work fine, neither is the correct
version.

Peter is correct:

navigate to www.passlabs.com/np and download the f4r0 pdf.

You will note that D3 and 4 are connected slightly differently.

  Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2007, 11:56 PM   #540
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kansas City
Perhaps this is too off the subject, but...
Since the biggest hassle is the enclosure,
and the biggest expense is the PS,
and since the F4 is an odd duck (a really great odd duck),
I'm thinking of building in another two channels (of a more conventional)
amplifier, utilizing the same case and power supply.
What, in your opinions, should that other amp be?
I'm leaning towards a Peter Daniel Chip amp.
Any ideas...
They wouldn't necessarily be used together, but perhaps the F4 as full range and other driving supertweeter or sub.
-Thanks - Marsupialx
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:42 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2