F4 power amplifier - Page 354 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th December 2012, 12:33 PM   #3531
acl0056 is offline acl0056  United States
diyAudio Member
 
acl0056's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
so - either degeneration or cascooding
Has anyone ever posted an F4 schematic with cascoded JFETs? This could be interesting to see alongside the recent F5 Turbo excitement. F4 Turbo V1?
__________________
To become a master solderer, one must learn to have three or four hands.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 12:40 PM   #3532
acl0056 is offline acl0056  United States
diyAudio Member
 
acl0056's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
lacking B3 , best thing for now is combining BA3 Balanced front end with input buffer-less balanced F4 .........
This would be another way to raise the voltage, at least to the max voltage of the BA-3 front end, whether running balanced or SE.

Out of curiosity, would this be achieved by omitting R1-4, Q1-2, D3-4? What about C1-2, still needed?
__________________
To become a master solderer, one must learn to have three or four hands.

Last edited by acl0056; 14th December 2012 at 12:58 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 02:16 PM   #3533
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally Posted by acl0056 View Post
Has anyone ever posted an F4 schematic with cascoded JFETs? This could be interesting to see alongside the recent F5 Turbo excitement. F4 Turbo V1?
probably yes ; pretty trivial ( read - cut'n'paste jobie)



Quote:
Originally Posted by acl0056 View Post
...... R1-4, Q1-2, D3-4? What about C1-2,.......
speaking of which schematic , exactly ?
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2012, 05:30 AM   #3534
acl0056 is offline acl0056  United States
diyAudio Member
 
acl0056's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
speaking of which schematic , exactly ?
The F4
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (243.0 KB, 402 views)
__________________
To become a master solderer, one must learn to have three or four hands.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2012, 08:00 AM   #3535
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
lok for "bufferless F4" iterations , here in thread
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 03:25 PM   #3536
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Davis,CA
I built my headphone amp using attached schematic - also added Jensen JT-123-ALCF as Nelson recommended as interstage transformer (posts 3397 -3400.)

I was just kindly gifted some 2Sk2013s and 2Sj313s. Can they replace the IRF510s and IRF 9510s? I have these currently biased at 350mA

As always thanks.

Bob
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hdphnf4r0.jpg (49.1 KB, 303 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 03:29 PM   #3537
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
YEs, although not optimal. tHey should perform better than IRF. THe F5 juma built with them had bias at about 500mA. Big thing is, you cant push them hard, as I believe they are only rated for 1A, so dont really want them going AB.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 03:45 PM   #3538
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
300mA is A for cans
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 04:03 PM   #3539
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Davis,CA
As I remember I may have to adjust R8 or R9 for biasing and R6 or R7 for offset. I ended up with R9 at 5k and R6 at 8k

Best
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 04:04 PM   #3540
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Never used cans, so don't have a reference point. Just talking in general.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:18 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2