F4 power amplifier - Page 352 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th November 2012, 10:33 PM   #3511
Pocoyo is offline Pocoyo  Indonesia
diyAudio Member
 
Pocoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indonesia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pocoyo View Post
Dear zen mod

Another stupid question, do you ever measure Your P1 ?

What is different between B1, B2 and B3 ?

Which one better go for double F4 or F4 with B1/2/3 ?
For 87 db speaker

thank you, best regards
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
clarify

you mean on First Watt B1, B2 , B3 ?

how big P1 in your amp?

the question is
- can b1/b2/b3 increase gain on F4 to drive 87 db speaker ?
- or better to use double F4 / use 4 pcb to drive 87 db speaker ?
- which b1/2/3 better for f4 ?

thank you Zen
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2012, 10:48 PM   #3512
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pocoyo View Post
how big P1 in your amp?

the question is
- can b1/b2/b3 increase gain on F4 to drive 87 db speaker ?
- or better to use double F4 / use 4 pcb to drive 87 db speaker ?
- which b1/2/3 better for f4 ?

thank you Zen
my F4 ( Papa's Koan ) is plain F4 made by R1 schematic , so P1 is 5K

for F4 , of all B's , only B3 is adequate

but - observe what's written on B3 page : http://tinyurl.com/d34lzku

for your spks ( some other things are also important , besides db/W - room size , your listening habits ...... ) safe bet is using F4 as balanced ....

lacking B3 , best thing for now is combining BA3 Balanced front end with input buffer-less balanced F4 ......... and that combo is simply BA3 amp , balanced

for my spks (94db/W/m , 16R ) I'm feeding F4 as SE , ditto from DAC output and I'm having max 600mW as result

still lacking some 6db of voltage swing for full blast , but I'm lazy bstrd
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2012, 04:19 PM   #3513
Pocoyo is offline Pocoyo  Indonesia
diyAudio Member
 
Pocoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indonesia
hi zen

i got aleph p 1.7 setting on the highest output ( 1-0-0-1 )
and the X2 preamp, it is enough to feed F4 ?

i was interest with glassware audio like pjgregory did on the post #3179
but after i think view times got an original product maybe better for me
i will think about B3 front end on the next step

now making chassis for the F4, walter burkhard give me a lot of homework
to make a beautiful chassis ( i bought heatsink from him )
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2012, 04:54 PM   #3514
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
I'll see later for P1.7 gain , but hardly

X2 - original one ?
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2012, 12:06 AM   #3515
Pocoyo is offline Pocoyo  Indonesia
diyAudio Member
 
Pocoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indonesia
yes zen

i was trade 33 pcs Bgn with this beautiful pre
before that i bought the x2 pcb but not finished yet
looks like i lost my spirit after have the original
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2012, 01:06 AM   #3516
diyAudio Member
 
grimberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: California, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
lacking B3 , best thing for now is combining BA3 Balanced front end with input buffer-less balanced F4 ......... and that combo is simply BA3 amp , balanced
Zen Mod,

I am surprised you are not recommending your creation, The Pumpkin. What gives?
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2012, 01:11 AM   #3517
Pocoyo is offline Pocoyo  Indonesia
diyAudio Member
 
Pocoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indonesia
for the trade im a little bit late
i lost the x150 amp who sold Us$ 1500
didnt hear the amp but love the blue meter
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2012, 06:21 AM   #3518
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Pumpkin is, of course ........

but , there are few reasons why I'm not mention it :

-I'm still Paypal-less , and tired of inventing new ways to have it ,
-I hate advertising in every possible place



Pocoyo - X2 is wonderful little gadget , but not optimized for output swing needed for balanced F4

X2's output stage is having ~ 10mA Iq , not enough for your purpose ( at least in my book ) while changing/tweaking that is almost impossible , considering it's physical layout

make full BA3 , balanced and use X2 to drive it
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM

Last edited by Zen Mod; 20th November 2012 at 06:36 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2012, 03:49 AM   #3519
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Davis,CA
My 2 cents says just insert an autoformer between the buffer and caps in an F4.
As somebody says it is a poor mans M2 but I have to tell you it sure sounds good
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2012, 05:17 AM   #3520
Pocoyo is offline Pocoyo  Indonesia
diyAudio Member
 
Pocoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indonesia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
Pocoyo - X2 is wonderful little gadget , but not optimized for output swing needed for balanced F4

X2's output stage is having ~ 10mA Iq , not enough for your purpose ( at least in my book ) while changing/tweaking that is almost impossible , considering it's physical layout

make full BA3 , balanced and use X2 to drive it
Yes Sir ... Allright Sir !

I will search the BA-3 green PCB

BTW can i connect the BA-3 supply
from F4 PSU ?
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2