Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th March 2008, 04:41 PM   #2081
tms0425 is offline tms0425  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft. Wayne, IN
OK those were hosted over at AC. I'll try attachments this time.

Moderator, feel free to delete post #2126 I tried to embed images in. Sorry for problem.
----------------------

A couple images of my finished F4 "mule" amp with all Peter Daniels boards. This is my test bed before I start cleaning up wires, adding fancy parts, etc. Alas, metal work is not my forte, but it sounds great.

Tom
Attached Images
File Type: jpg p1020193 (medium).jpg (94.7 KB, 1397 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2008, 04:42 PM   #2082
tms0425 is offline tms0425  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft. Wayne, IN
And a finished one...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg p1020195 (medium).jpg (73.6 KB, 1229 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2008, 04:52 PM   #2083
DaveM is offline DaveM  United States
diyAudio Member
 
DaveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vermont
I have my F4 wired up with a single transformer driving a stereo amp. My tranny was initially bought for an AX amp that never materialized. It is a 750 VA 18v primary unit with a CLC power supply and about 65,000 uF of capacitance. The caps are 2200 uF Nichicon low ESR caps I bought on overstock for cheap and strung together on 11 ga romex.

Is there any real advantage to separate transformers for each channel? I have two of these monsters and they will end up driving 2 balanced channels in the end, but just wondered what if any advantage there would be to having two supplies instead of one.
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2008, 05:10 PM   #2084
diyAudio Member
 
chrismercurio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
He has a dual mono stereo amplifier this way.

Do you have 2 AC inlets as well?

C
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2008, 05:19 PM   #2085
tms0425 is offline tms0425  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft. Wayne, IN
Quote:
Originally posted by chrismercurio
He has a dual mono stereo amplifier this way.

Do you have 2 AC inlets as well?

C
Mine just has one AC inlet to dual transformers. I didn't think it was worth managing even more AC cords as I am in a bi-amped setup already.
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2008, 05:28 PM   #2086
diyAudio Member
 
chrismercurio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Just curious. Manufacturers that go to that length do it (I think) for marketing purposes only. It is a very nice build.

Congrats,
C
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2008, 05:38 PM   #2087
steenoe is offline steenoe  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
steenoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
You get the best soundstage, using two trafo's (and supplies). True dualmono gives the best result, marginal maybe, but detectable. If you are building F4 bridged monoblock's, its perfectly allright with one trafo per channel. (Obviously!)
Another point is the appeal factor but thats not important, compared to the previously mentioned reason.
One single AC inlet is quite adequate, though.

  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2008, 05:44 PM   #2088
Tea-Bag is offline Tea-Bag  United States
not politcally affiliated
diyAudio Member
 
Tea-Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kennebunk
Blog Entries: 7
Default Bolts and Stuff

TMS -
where did you get your bolts and washers for this?
Is there a kit for this sorta thing, or did you just go to the hardware store?

I would not mind seeing a close up of the PS, amp boards and rectifiers - looks like you got some quick disconnectors there, good idea.

Did you use 1/2 watt PRP resistors everywhere? Sorry if you posted parts used elsewhere.
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2008, 06:20 PM   #2089
tms0425 is offline tms0425  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft. Wayne, IN
Default Re: Bolts and Stuff

Quote:
Originally posted by mithomas
TMS -
where did you get your bolts and washers for this?
Is there a kit for this sorta thing, or did you just go to the hardware store?

I would not mind seeing a close up of the PS, amp boards and rectifiers - looks like you got some quick disconnectors there, good idea.

Did you use 1/2 watt PRP resistors everywhere? Sorry if you posted parts used elsewhere.
Uh, no kits, that's what DIY's about ;-)

I found a local Metal Supermarket franchise store here (GREAT service by the way). I had them cut a 5052 12x14 sheet of .125 aluminum for the pan (~$10), 12x6 .125 for the back (~$7), and 12x14 perf steel .080 on top (~$12). The front is 12x6 0.250 5052 (~$15). The angles are all 1 x 1 x.125 (~$1/ft). I have around $50 in all that, but then there's the 2 or 3 6-32 taps I broke hand threading all of them. That took by far more time than anything. I just don't have access to small job machine shop or friends with those tools. Oh, and a Unibit is worth every penny for the back panel.

I used all 1/2w PRP's except for Mills 5w for all 0.47R in the PS and source resistors. Coupling caps are Panasonic FC's, power supply 15,000uf 35v TSHA's, bridges are generic IR.

This is what I describe as a "mule" for me to test parts and get all the grounding right, etc before committing to more cost. I used the quick disconnects and left all the wires long so I could easily transplant all the parts later. The grounds are all connected using these cool little 6 position push in connectors from the electrical department at Menards. That way I could test how to ground the dual mono. Once it's right, I will use decent wire and solder all those connections permanently.

If you want to shoot me an email I can point you to more detailed pix.

Tom
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2008, 06:36 PM   #2090
Tea-Bag is offline Tea-Bag  United States
not politcally affiliated
diyAudio Member
 
Tea-Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kennebunk
Blog Entries: 7
Default Email - thanks for the reply

TMS0425, I cannot mail you, says your blocked.
I think my profile will allow you to email me.

I have been waiting for a metals depot order once I get some 'real' heatsinks.

So you tapped the sides. I was hoping to drill and use some self tapping bolt.

I have the DCX as well. I am not quite sure if I understand the pre-2496 setup real well, other than its being used as another gain stage. Not a bad idea, if I can get away with a passive or my 10db gain Ultrapath.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:05 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2