F4 power amplifier - Page 12 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th March 2007, 12:47 PM   #111
veteran is offline veteran  Poland
diyAudio Member
 
veteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Poland
Not yet, but I will probably order few to make sure, that there are no mistakes (schematic and layout is very easy so there shouldn't be any surprises). I have 200mm high heat-sinks and they will feat just fine

If somebody want to have less problems with matching FETs - IRFP240/IRFP9140 should work better in output stage (I was using such pairs in Dracula amplifier). I added RA,RB and CA, CB components on this PCB but they can be skiped (just place jumper instead of RA and RB).

3D view of this board:
Attached Images
File Type: gif 3d_f4.gif (42.4 KB, 3264 views)
__________________
Simple audio solutions
blog.unisonus.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2007, 01:00 PM   #112
diyAudio Member
 
mpmarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Crunchville, where I don't fit in.
Thanks for sharing veteran,

I don't know if the day will come that I can do a nice layout. I have had a couple of successes but Maybe someday I'll have something worth sharing

Jacco and Choky... be quiet!
__________________
Crazy Yankee.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2007, 08:45 PM   #113
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by mpmarino
.........................

Jacco and Choky... be quiet!

why ?
we always behave..........
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2007, 01:02 AM   #114
diyAudio Member
 
mpmarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Crunchville, where I don't fit in.
Quote:
Originally posted by Zen Mod



why ?
we always behave..........

Right.....


Hey, would it be a big deal if the ZENERS were 6.2v as a sub for the 6.8v in the circuit?

Oh, are Jfets wicked static sensitive?
__________________
Crazy Yankee.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2007, 06:39 AM   #115
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by mpmarino



Right.....


Hey, would it be a big deal if the ZENERS were 6.2v as a sub for the 6.8v in the circuit?

Oh, are Jfets wicked static sensitive?

you mean crippled 2N4736.......

they're there just for protection- just put what you have in drawer or don't put anything if you are confident that you wouldn't have short circ between headphones during connecting cables to amp
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2007, 01:00 PM   #116
diyAudio Member
 
mpmarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Crunchville, where I don't fit in.
Quote:
you mean crippled 2N4736.......
right...



... and thanks.

The ZENERS look to be there to protect the OP FETs, right? Is it not necessary to protect the Jfets? Aren't those little buggers fragile?

fragile : (fra-geel-ae) 1. made in italy
__________________
Crazy Yankee.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2007, 03:11 PM   #117
Formerly "jh6you". R.I.P.
 
Babowana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally posted by mpmarino


The ZENERS look to be there to protect the OP FETs, right? Is it not necessary to protect the Jfets? Aren't those little buggers fragile?

fragile : (fra-geel-ae) 1. made in italy


When we adjust bias voltage, e.g. TL431, we could make a
mistake by accident. If the bias voltage is too high,
the power mosfets would suffer from excessive current.
If so, when we have no spare parts, hmm . . .

Meanwhile, the input jfets are formed with self bias. As long as
the rail voltages are under control, the jfets are safe. In my
opinion, the probability for us to use wrong rail voltages are
ignorably low.


  Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2007, 03:13 PM   #118
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by mpmarino

.................. Aren't those little buggers fragile?

fragile : (fra-geel-ae) 1. made in italy

not like m-fets
you don't need gate protection for them,except maybe few dozen ohms in line with gate................for radio freq



fragile?
krhki,you mean?
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2007, 04:15 PM   #119
diyAudio Member
 
mpmarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Crunchville, where I don't fit in.
Thanks Choky

I appreciate it.



hot off the presses:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg brd (medium).jpg (55.2 KB, 3197 views)
__________________
Crazy Yankee.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2007, 03:29 AM   #120
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
My first etching

Thanks to Nelson Pass for sharing the schematic

Thanks to Veteran for sharing the layout

Thanks to Tom Gootee for the 'how to etch' instructions

Click the image to open in full size.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 06:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:55 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2