Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th September 2007, 02:10 AM   #1141
diyAudio Member
 
mpmarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Crunchville, where I don't fit in.
Hey Guys - I've got a F4 question.

What preamp should I use?
-just kidding-

The F4 has ~+-23v as we know. I was going to use irfp140/9140 outputs. simple 'nuff, but here's the quandary - and my ignorance is shining here I've decided to bridge them. Does this mean that the outputs will see twice the +-23v across them in the bridged configuration?

The 140 is a 100v fet, so you can see my concern...


Thanks!
__________________
Crazy Yankee.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2007, 07:52 AM   #1142
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by mpmarino
Hey Guys - I've got a F4 question.

//////// and my ignorance is shining here //////////

exactly


greedy boy

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
tnx to clean thread ; Cook Book ; PSM LS Cook Book ; Baby Diyaudio FORUM ; Mighty ZM's Bloggg;I'm dumb ; Papatreasure
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2007, 09:15 AM   #1143
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
just usual over-engineering question:
what about 2SK1530/2SJ201 ?

they're just little more complementary than usual suspects...


is that worth the fuss ..... ?
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
tnx to clean thread ; Cook Book ; PSM LS Cook Book ; Baby Diyaudio FORUM ; Mighty ZM's Bloggg;I'm dumb ; Papatreasure
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2007, 11:39 AM   #1144
diyAudio Member
 
mpmarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Crunchville, where I don't fit in.
Quote:
Originally posted by Zen Mod



exactly


greedy boy

Well, I guess that clears it up for me. Thanks!
__________________
Crazy Yankee.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 02:40 AM   #1145
diyAudio Member
 
chrismercurio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Default A question for Nelson,

Mr Pass,

I know you did a fair bit of research into which commercial preamplifiers would work well where voltage is concerned with the F4. Can you possibly provide a list of the balanced operation preamps that work well in terms of votage output?

Thanks very much for the consideration,

C
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 04:45 AM   #1146
diyAudio Member
 
chrismercurio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Default I forgot to say

CONGRATULATIONS! on a very fine review.

http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/firstwatt6/f4_3.html

Respect,

C
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2007, 06:21 AM   #1147
Blues is offline Blues  United States
Lightning In A Bottle
diyAudio Member
 
Blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Milky Way
Default Re: I forgot to say

Quote:
Originally posted by chrismercurio
CONGRATULATIONS! on a very fine review.

http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/firstwatt6/f4_3.html

Respect,

C
BTW, follow Chris' link for the completed review...
__________________
Leap into the Warpspeed wormhole... http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/warpspeed/1.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 03:30 AM   #1148
diyAudio Member
 
mpmarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Crunchville, where I don't fit in.
Quote:
Originally posted by mpmarino
Hey Guys - I've got a F4 question.


The F4 has ~+-23v as we know. I was going to use irfp140/9140 outputs. simple 'nuff, but here's the quandary - and my ignorance is shining here I've decided to bridge them. Does this mean that the outputs will see twice the +-23v across them in the bridged configuration?

The 140 is a 100v fet, so you can see my concern...


Thanks!
Seriously,

I know I'm a greedy boy and all that ... but ...

I'm not sure about this - will the 100v irfp140 / 9140 see the full swing of both amps in bridged config. I'm thinking that it will still see only +-23v but I'm not 100% sure

Please?? I'll give you a cookie
__________________
Crazy Yankee.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 03:54 AM   #1149
diyAudio Member
 
Peter Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Send a message via AIM to Peter Daniel
In bridged config. the output devices will see exactly same voltage (+/-23V)
__________________
www.audiosector.com
“Do something really well. See how much time it takes. It might be a product, a work of art, who knows? Then give it away cheaply, just because you feel that it should not cost so much, even if it took a lot of time and expensive materials to make it.” - JC
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 06:41 AM   #1150
diyAudio Member
 
R-K Rønningstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oslo
Quote:
Originally posted by Peter Daniel
In bridged config. the output devices will see exactly same voltage (+/-23V)

The concept is shown in the attached picture.
When the upper amp swings towards +23 V, the lower swings towards the -23 V rail, putting all that voltage (46 V) over the loudspeaker.
NB! Dynamic loudspeakers and magnetic pick-ups (moving coils for example) are born symmetrical.

RK
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bridged.jpg (21.7 KB, 950 views)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 10:49 PM
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 38 9th May 2009 05:23 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 10:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 08:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 04:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:58 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2