Adjusting the BIAS for Threshold SA3

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been using the Threshold SA3 and FET10/hl for more then 15 years and they keep bringing me continuous leisure and joys on listening to music throughout that period.

It is not until recently I have to convert the SA3 and Fet10 from 220V to 120V (as I have to move to another place) and that couple works fine for another month. Afterwards problems have arisen and I have replaced some of the components for the SA3, they were 2 X 41,000uf caps, 14 X MJ15022, 14 X MJ15023, 2 X 0.15uf caps, 2 X 2N5566 and 2 X multi-turn 2K trimmer respectively. Everything was back to normal again, except I’m not sure what is the recommended data for adjusting the bias for this particular power amplifier.

I've searched around this forum and got some ideas on how to adjusting the bias. At the moment I have adjusted the bias such that the voltage across the emitter resistor is 0.135V and the steady temperature on the heatsink is 40.5C (at room temperature 20C). When comparing with what was before I can remember that the heatsink should be hotter (something like 50C) after being switched on for an hour. It brings to me that the bias might not be enough and can anyone tells me the proper bias voltage setting across the emitter resistor? Thanks a lot! :)

Attachments

• sa3.jpg
    sa3.jpg
    45 KB · Views: 869
I'm so excited and can't imagine that the designer of my Threshold SA3 power amplifier, Mr. Pass was answering my first question in this forum. Thanks so much! :cheers:

I am working on it now and at the same time listening to the Cannonball Adderley's "Somethin' Else", its awesome! :D

Attachments

• sa3-2.jpg
    sa3-2.jpg
    74.7 KB · Views: 772
THRESHOLD SA.3 bias control and upgrade

hello, I bought recently a THRESHOLD SA.3 and after some tries with differents preamplifier, it works nicely.