Class A and Class AB - How Does This Work?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I just read an eBay ad for an X350 that said that it was 50W Pure A, and 350W total. I'm wondering how this is accomplished?

Is this a 400W Class AB amp with the input level shifted / biased to allow 50W of swing to occur on one set of transistors (ie the set that handles the "+" portion of the Class AB wave)? Then when the signal goes above 50W (or whatever voltage this corresponds to), the "-" set of transistors starts to conduct during portions of the cycle? If so, could this be biased even higher to get a higher power 175-200W Class A wave at the expense of a lower or nonexistent higher power class AB output and an astronomical electric bill?

The search tool returned 8712 results. None of the entries on the first few pages seemed to cover this topic. Sorry for my English - I graduated from a public school somewhere in the Midwest :)

Thanks everyone,

Bryan A. Thompson
bryan@batee.com

Hi Bryan,

it probably could be biased a lot higher to get more class-a power.
The problem is that the case / power supply / heatsinks are dimensioned for 600W idle.

So if you up the bias X% the power dissipation at idle would also go up X% and the temperature would become higher.

To change the output power (class A ) from 50 watts to 175 watts you would need to up the bias by a factor of 2. This would also change the temperature from around 50°C at ambient 20° to 75-80° at ambient 20°.

I suppose the 50 watts are chosen because most of the time you will need a lot less than that.

William

I understand that raising the bias would produce more heat that has to be dealt with.

I asked the question because I'm curious to know what technology is used to allow the switch from Class A to Class AB at higher power levels, not because I want to hotrod one of Nelson's amps...:)