Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th December 2006, 03:07 PM   #1
hacknet is offline hacknet  Singapore
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: sg
Default F2 on an SMPS

i was browzing through the F2's schematics this morning and the low voltage required gave me a silly idea.

is it even imaginable to run the F2's off a 24v SMPS? i think it would be pretty cheap and easy to get my hands on a pair of 24v ~8A SMPS. that would give a mile of current headroom and a pretty stiff 24v.

sonically would it be ludacrise to do something like that?


love to hear your ideas! happy new year guys!
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2007, 04:29 PM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Columbia, SC
The idea comes up every month or two, usually spurred by the availability of surplus computer power supplies. Search the forums--you'll probably find a hundred similar threads.
Unfortunately, switching supplies generate a lot of RF. Some are less than stable when confronted with an amplifier as a load. What a computer regards as available current and what an amplifier thinks are different things. That said, it can be done, at least some of the time. If you can get them cheaply enough you're certainly welcome to try. I've done it once or twice, but always as a stopgap measure; went to a 'normal' power supply as soon as possible.

Grey
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2007, 08:37 PM   #3
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
One advantage is that the F2 is literally constant current
draw, so you don't have to be concerned about audio
transients being greater than the rating of the supply -
if it runs at all, it should run great.

Also, with no feedback and low gain, the F2 is very resistant
to RF noise.

  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2007, 12:47 AM   #4
flg is offline flg  United States
diyAudio Member
 
flg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North East
Not to circumvent what Grey and nelson said But... I have taken your typical (42Volt Printer suply) and used it for my preamps a couple times now They work great, with the supply a few inches- a foot away, with a big low esr cap close to the amp, and a couple of film bypass'es. I was surprised myself...
I have a ciouple I want to use for a power amp soon...
Just my experience
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2007, 01:04 AM   #5
hacknet is offline hacknet  Singapore
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: sg
thanks for your replys guys! i just might get the project off the ground and give it a try.

i cant seem to find large VA 18v transformers locally thats why i am thinking of using SMPSes.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2007, 03:10 AM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Columbia, SC
I got peeved one afternoon because I didn't have any music down where I do my electronics stuff. Seemed unjust. Pulled out an old car radio and a 12V computer supply. It worked first time.
Newer supplies are better designed (hopefully more stable), but sometimes older ones would smoke when put into audio use. Knew a fellow who spent half an afternoon trying various power supplies, only to have a fair-sized pile of junk at the end of the day.
At least he managed to clear a lot of shelf space.
This is not to discourage you from trying--just be aware that there can be problems. If they're cheap enough, or better yet, free, then you'll be okay even if they pop. If they work, then you're ahead of the game.

Grey
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2007, 03:41 PM   #7
hacknet is offline hacknet  Singapore
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: sg
sounds good!

ive seen alot of these steel caged smps for sale at the electronics stores. i was just wondering if it was possible to use them. i will go do more snooping around to see if they are cost effective.

maybe it just might make sense to buy toroidals off farnel and build a simple power supply.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smps a2005r2003 Power Supplies 19 11th August 2011 06:19 AM
SMPS for B+ from PC PS jkeny Tubes / Valves 1 10th February 2007 07:52 PM
Smps Juani_12-5 Car Audio 8 20th January 2007 09:15 AM
Smps rinox Power Supplies 0 2nd September 2005 10:05 PM
Need help on car SMPS DFI Car Audio 16 18th June 2004 05:59 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:26 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2