Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th December 2002, 10:45 PM   #1
Jason_N is offline Jason_N  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Cutting a groove in Aluminum

I've got a piece of 1/4" 6061 aluminum for amp frontplate. I need to cut a 3/8" deep and 4" wide slot down the front of it. Does anyone know a easy way to do this? I've got a decent table saw but do not relish the idea of making 50 passes to get a 4" wide groove. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

BTW, I'm new here. My name is Jason, I'm an EE student at the U of Washington. I've been reading the posts for a couple of months and have probably learned more than I have in 2 years of school. Thanks.
Old 6th December 2002, 11:03 PM   #2
BrianGT is offline BrianGT  United States
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to BrianGT
Default Re: Cutting a groove in Aluminum

Quote:
Originally posted by Jason_N
I've got a piece of 1/4" 6061 aluminum for amp frontplate. I need to cut a 3/8" deep and 4" wide slot down the front of it. Does anyone know a easy way to do this? I've got a decent table saw but do not relish the idea of making 50 passes to get a 4" wide groove. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
I am a little confused here, it is 1/4" thick and you want to cut a 3/8" deep slot?

--
Brian
Old 6th December 2002, 11:22 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Wow, don't I feel smart. I meant 1/2".

Thanks,
Jason
Old 7th December 2002, 12:17 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Default Aluminium groove

I bought an aluminium cutting blade for my saw bench at 80$ CAN. I'm doing all my metal work with it. Aluminium is quite easy to cut. It is also aesy to make a groove by doing multiple cuts side by side. Hope it helps...

Bye.
Old 7th December 2002, 12:27 AM   #5
diyAudio Member