Cutting a groove in Aluminum

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've got a piece of 1/4" 6061 aluminum for amp frontplate. I need to cut a 3/8" deep and 4" wide slot down the front of it. Does anyone know a easy way to do this? I've got a decent table saw but do not relish the idea of making 50 passes to get a 4" wide groove. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

BTW, I'm new here. My name is Jason, I'm an EE student at the U of Washington. I've been reading the posts for a couple of months and have probably learned more than I have in 2 years of school. Thanks.

Retired diyAudio Moderator
Joined 2002
Jason_N said:
I've got a piece of 1/4" 6061 aluminum for amp frontplate. I need to cut a 3/8" deep and 4" wide slot down the front of it. Does anyone know a easy way to do this? I've got a decent table saw but do not relish the idea of making 50 passes to get a 4" wide groove. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

I am a little confused here, it is 1/4" thick and you want to cut a 3/8" deep slot?

--
Brian

I have a quick answer and then a total thread jack. I have heard that a router can work with aluminum if you go slow and use plenty of lubricant, ie. tons of wd40, cutting oil, even salad oil will work. You could set up a table and only have to reset it maybe 8 times depending on the bit width. Also make sure the bit isnt heating up too much periodically.

And for the thread jacking,

I am planning to go for the same major at the same college as you in a couple years (I am in 10th grade at the moment) and everybody I have talked to has told me something different about the acceptance standards for UW. What were your grades and sat score like? I really would like to know how much time I need to put to grades and how much to put into electronics.

Thanks!
-Chris

Hi Chris,