diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Pass Labs (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/pass-labs/)
-   -   problems building zen 5 amp (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/pass-labs/82616-problems-building-zen-5-amp.html)

audiorob 5th July 2006 08:27 AM

problems building zen 5 amp

Hi,

I'm a computer scientist who is lost in a EE's domain, so please forgive my ignorance.

I am trying to build my first DIY amp. I thought I would build the Zen 5 amp, as it can be built with point to point wiring. I thought I would build a test board and power it with my workbench power supply (before trying to build that big power supply). The max voltage on the workbench power supply is 30V, so I can get +/- 15V rails (at 3A). I _think_ (I don't _know_) this is enough voltage to at least get some noise from the amp (which is my goal before building the big power supply). Can someone confirm this guess?

I built the amp following Fig. 3 of Nelson's, "The Zen Variations - Part 5 The Complementary Zen" article. I'm as sure as I can be that I have built the circuit correctly. Because I'm using +/- 15V rails, I put two 47.5K resistors in parallel for R5 and for R6 (the value of R5 is ~24K, and the value of R6 is ~24K) to be able to use the pots to set the bias.