Total newbie questions... - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th June 2006, 06:48 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Total newbie questions...

Hello everybody! I discovered this website when searching for some information on the project I had in mind for quite some time now: Building my own pure Class A amplifier.

The problem with this is that actually, I'm quite illiterate in electronics. I mean, I know how to hold a soldering iron and I can tell a transistor from a diode , all the basic stuff so to speak, but I have no idea about the whereabouts of damping factors, harmonic distortions generating from the circuit itself and the different types of resistors used for an example, the different design philosophies of amplifiers, and other more complex aspects of electronic devices. Does anybody have some good recommendations for freely available material (pdfs for an example) that I could read through to understand more about things like that?

But back to my amp project. First of all, I would like to keep the money involved down to a minimum; I may have some good possibilities to get expensive/big parts like used power supplies and huge capacitors for free or very cheap, and I also have access to machining for building a good chassis.