Passive pre

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everybody
I'm planning to build a pseudo-passive preamp. I would like to have an outbut buffer to avoid getting too fussy about cables and impedances (this IMHO, any different is welcome). I am discovering Mr. Pass' work and I'm wondering which design could suit my needs.Very boring topic for most of you, I fear, since I'm a newbie and I know little about Mr. Pass' designs. For example I found "Balanced line stage" (is that BOSOZ? and what is X-BOSOZ then?) very interesting, but:

I don't think I'll need 10 dB gain, do you? I thought unity gain was enough, but perhaps I'm out of way

I didn't fully understand how tu run it with both inputs and outputs unbalanced (negative input to ground? and negative output?)

Sources will be ordinary Cd players or phono preamps, amps will be a D class (DIY, probably UcD) and possibly a Dynaco ST70.
Anyone can give me advice?
Thanks

Attachments

• ct2-stereo-300-pix-wide.jpg
    ct2-stereo-300-pix-wide.jpg
    12.2 KB · Views: 569
Thanks
I read the BUF634 spec sheet, seems interesting.
Have you got a schematic idea for this?
I saw on the forum that something with OPAxxx + BUF634 was made, I suppose has much more gain

And what about something without op-amps? Discrete perhaps? No Pass designs?