how to proceed

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
This is my 1st message to this huge forum.

I am currently busy with making the so called "Killatone" speakers to complement my current 2.1 monitoring system.

I have already built a "kit" chip amp (what I could use for the speakers), but I like to go for something nicer.

Originally I have considered to build the Zen V4, but as far as I understand the V9 is better.

1st of all I like to know what should I build?

Next: once decided what to build I like to aks you ladies and gens for help, guidances how to realize succesfully this project.

Currently the enclosure is already in design phase = 2 rather big coolblocks on the sides, fully metal enclosure.

Any help and good word is welcome.

trif.

Start with Z1? hm, is it really the way to go? Can I not imeediately go with V4 or V9?

I remember when i studied physics at the univ we still had to know very well tubes, although at that time some chip amps were already coming into the market.

I would go for a tube amp, push-pull with Lundahl trafo, but I do not want to work with the high voltages (as I do not have so much expirience, although the concept is very elegant, and I believe the sound is also nice).

So, therefore my interest is in the ZENs or any other solid state amp.

trif.

Actually, I do have all the components for ZV4 including trafo, but not the PCB. As I said the enclosure is in design phase, and will be done from brushed stainless steal plates + heatsinks.

But if ZV9 is better, perhaps it is not worth to build the V4. Any comment is welcome.

trif.

OK.

It will be ZV4. In one enclosure 2 channels.
I am currently busy with the enclosure design/preparation for manufacturing.

Is it better to go for 2 transformers (one per channel)?

I like to have some GUIDANCES on that, because the enclosure size will be mainly determined by the number of transformers (1 or 2).