Pass DIY Information Overload - HELP!!!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Group:

I'm a relative newbie here, and thoroughly overwhelmed by the 150+ threads of Pass DIY information! Bigger is often better, but in this case it is tough to get an overview or a hold on what is going on. Am I the only one whom feels this way?

I'd like to construct a Pass DIY amplifier, but which one to choose from? I have fairly efficient, single-driver BR speakers (94 db/w/m), so I don't need monster amps. In fact, I'm using a 2A3 single ended amp @ 2.5 W/p/c right now. Not ear-shattering dynamics, but loud enough in a small room.

Can somebody point me to a thread that gives a BASIC overview of what series Pass amps are available to the DIY-er ? And...what are the BASIC sonic differences between them? Construction method is also a consideration...I'd prefer to build something clean on a nice PCB instead of doing point-to-point wiring.

With the Zen, Aleph, Aleph X, X, and First Watt series...all of which come in mini, monster, and multiple circuit variations, I'm afraid of building one whose performance has been far eclipsed by some other design. Or are they ALL good sounding?

Assuming that Pass generally takes steps forward in performance with each new variation, logic tells me that I should probably build one of the latest circuits that he has released. Zen V9 perhaps? An Aleph X?

Can somebody please help me through this maze? Perhaps Nelson Pass can please offer a basic overview/sonic quality comparison of these circuits...maybe?

Thanks...
Diogenio

diogenio,

>> Zen, Aleph, Aleph X, X, and First Watt series

Other than these you start with the Zen serie, pretty amazing little amps
Then a beast the A75, 48 High Power MosFet for 2 * 75watts of pure class A
The Aleph serie, well regarded from audiophiles.
The Aleph-X from 20 to 100 watts a subset of the PassLabs AX version