Aleph ?? with Linkwitz Orion?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I’m just about to finish a pair of Linkwitz Orion loudspeakers. Orion is a quad amplified (6-8 channels in total), 3-way open baffle design with a SEAS Excel W22 for the midrange and a SEAS T25CF002 millennium tweeter for the top end.

Now, I’m very interested in building a PASS DIY design to drive the midrange and top of the Orion. My “problem” is that I don’t know which design to choose and since I’m rather new in the DIY business I don’t really know what to look for. The “simple” design of Aleph 3 seems is very appealing, but I’ve heard very good reviews of the Aleph 5 as well. I suspect that the effect is a minor issue and 30 W should be more than enough.

Another aspect is that is the size of the amplifier. I plan to build four channels in total, two blocks of each two channels; therefore, a compact design would be an advantage.

I would really appreciate some opinions on which design to choose!

/trango

I know this is the wrong thread to mention this in :D, but Linkwitz suggests LM3886 based chipamps as being a fine compliment to the Orions. They definitely fit the bill of compact, and if you look around in the chipamp section, there are a ton of upgraded designs. Linkwitz even put out a very simple LM3886 schematic on his web page that has had some positive feedback from builders.

If you are new and want something really quick and simple with nice sound, you might want to at least look into the chipamps as an option.

David

Yes I have thought about a chip amp.

I'm currently driving the Orions with a DIY UcD180/UcD400 amp and I'm not sure a chip amp would be an upgrade... Another reason for building a Pass design is that I find the philosophy behind the Aleph series very beautiful.