100v or 63v capasitors for the Aleph???

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am in the process of buying parts for my Aleph 1.2 project. Apart from the apparent heatsink issues (this is not a new thread on this issue), there is the issue of capasitors. As I'm quite new to the DIY arena, I have some questions regarding capasitors:

Is 63v sufficient for the Aleph 1.2, or is it better (as in safer) to have 100v. Isn't 63v pushing the limits a bit? As in; will the 63v do for my Aleph 1.2 or not? I have seen several projects with 63v. The cost of quality caps with 100v is much higher than 63v.

If I'm not mistaken the original has 4x25000uF 75V capasitors. Why then has almost every Aleph 1.2 (and even 2) have over twice this amount? What is the "just right" value to go for? :confused:

folkeb said:
What is the "just right" value to go for?

As much as you can afford.
Dropping ripple is the most important on the Aleph powersupplies.
Volume and cost of capacitors is a prominent issue with commercial amplifiers, for DIY it generally is not.
If you are investing so much in all other parts of a 1.2 it's better not to be to economical on the capacitors.
Even 200kuF per channel for an Aleph 1.2 is squeemish in my book.

The voltage rating depends on which transformer voltage you pick. If you use a 50Vac toroid i'd go for at least 75V for the capacitors.
Using 100 volt capacitors is blowing cash for nothing. Sensible practice is to use a CRC or CLC powersupply. The high bias of the 1.2 will make the nominal rated voltage of the transformer drop.
A CLC or CRC configuration will drop the voltage even further for the second capacitor bank. You will not even get near 100 volts, and 100V capacitors are relatively very expensive.
Up to 80volts capacitors there is a reasonable linearity between price and the product of capacity times voltage rating.