Newbie building JFET Zen v8

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

I've been building tube amps for a few years and I thought I would try something different for a change. I will try to build the Zen JFET with a capacitance mutliplier PS ( IRF240). I've been going through as many of the first watt and JFET posts as I find and I have a few questions:

Heat sinks: What temperature rise is permissible/optimum. Should I be aiming to keep that increase to 10oC or 20oC or some other value? How good are the numbers on the Conrad and Thermaflo websites to guide me in heatsink sizing? How much will anodizing affect the real world performance of the heatsink?

Transformer. With the voltage loss in the PS, I will need a 40V transformer to get more or less 50V into the amp. I am calculating about 105W total power dissapation in one channel, 15W in the PS, 40W across each of the 22 Ohm power resistors (I don't want to use the lightbulbs) and about 10W in Q2. One post I read suggested that I size the TX to 4X the idle, bringing me to 420 VA. Is this appropriate?

Thanks. I'll probably have more questions as I go along.

Jonathan

summilux,

>> Heat sinks: What temperature rise is permissible/optimum.
50 to 53 degree Celsius max
Nelson says that: if you can keep your hand's on them for about 3 to 4 seconds
Better use a meter... Consider +25/30 degrees over current temp.

>> How good are the numbers on the Conrad and Thermaflo websites to guide
>> me in heatsink sizing?
The numbers are correct. Conrad are easier to work.
Take attention to "normal convection" mode, otherwise you will need a fan.
And also depends on pads, mica and grease, silpads ...

>> How much will anodizing affect the real world performance of the heatsink?
Black anodizing will radiate a little more heat. {just a few %}

>> 420 VA. Is this appropriate?