Bosoz

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I just rounded up the parts for the BOSOZ. I ordered the Diode bridge from Digikey (for the power supply) #2KBP02M-ND. It appears to be a 4 pin rectifier and my PCB is set up for a two device. Any suggestions?

Also I am planning to make a wooden case for the Preamp. Does it need a metal case around it for shielding?

steenoe said:
I have no experience with wooden enclosures. You might want to think about where you place the preamp, on top of a big trafo in your poweramp might not be the best place.
Someone else with knowledge on this?

Steen:)

Hi Steen, I have some experience with wood. Some people in Holland think it has a big impact on the sound, so they do everything in wood (including re-packing the capacitors in wood).

Some experiments with some of my own DIY gave an enlighting view and a somewhat confused sound. :drunk: In the end I bought myself an experiment kit with Mu-metal and started rebuilding my Pass Ono case with lots of aluminium, copper and Mu-metal for the trafo's. The trafos do influence the sound, especially with small signals in pre-amps.

Greetings, Harry

Hi Steen, I have some experience with wood. Some people in Holland think it has a big impact on the sound, so they do everything in wood (including re-packing the capacitors in wood).
Repacking caps in wood:xeye: Wow, I heard of skinning caps, but not packing them in wood:eek: Is that sounding any better? Okay I know you can go to great measures to shield out EMI and so with MU-metal! I never heard of the wood thing, though. Thanks for replying, Harry:) I am sure our friend Kennethrl, is happy too;) As for preamps, I have had the best results connecting the circuit GND to the chassis. That would be more ore less useless, with a wooden chassis.

Steen:)