My Aleph-X compact PCB

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

as I would like the enter the "Alephworld", I' ve designed an Aleph-X PCB.
Due to the constraints of my PCB Editor (Eagle demo Version), the board is very compact (4" x 3.20"), and it' s not been very easy to stuff all the components on it.

Now, given that I'm not that experienced in PCB design, I would like to hear the opinion of the more knowledgeable people on this forum.
Suggestions, constructive critics, flames are all most welcome!

Cheers,

Bruno

Attachments

• alephx.gif
    alephx.gif
    39.1 KB · Views: 4,273
This is pretty much identical to the 3yo standard AX board that just about everyone around here either owns or has seen.
Since everthing appears to be laid out in about the same place, if there are no mistakes, it should work.
If you are trying to actually build the amp for cheap a few people should have a bunch of the board stashed away somoene should be able to sell you a pair for no more than five dollars each. These are 4 oz Cu with the solder mask and the works. You can beat that.
Unfortunately, I am all out of mine.

Hi all!

Thanks a lot for all the answers, it' s nice to be part of such a great community! :D

grataku said:
This is pretty much identical to the 3yo standard AX board that just about everyone around here either owns or has seen.
Since everthing appears to be laid out in about the same place, if there are no mistakes, it should work.

Well, given the intrinsic, simmetrical structure of the Aleph-X, I guess it would be quite difficult/illogical to lay out the parts in a totally different way. Nevertheless, there' s one difference: I added a heatsink for the input MOSFETs, to improve the thermal coupling. I know, in previous threads it has been said this is not necessary, but it makes me feel better...:D

grataku said: