Ayre style X-Preamp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

I've been hanging around here for same time, trying to figure out (as a non EE and almost a newbee) how to implement a x-feedback to folded cascode topology (like in Nelson patent), as it seems that folded cascode sounds superior to other design if done correctly. N. Pass, C. Hensen and J. Carr (to name a few) use it with great succes, Analog Devices uses it in their opamps which sound and measure excelent. So I first try to convert a A75 input stage/ folded cascode (as preamp) to use x-feedback, but I have no luck/knowledge to succed there. Then, I try with Ayre schematic, and it seems that I finally have some luck:D .
Q: is it a x-feedback or not?

Attachments

• ayre x-pre v.1.0.jpg
    ayre x-pre v.1.0.jpg
    97 KB · Views: 1,908
Well, what can I say, thank you very much Nelson and others heroes around here. Without your help I'll be nowhere.

During my regular work today, I have some spare time to figure out how to implement x-feedback around A75 folded cascode driver. As is explained in service manual, one may choose how to wrap around negative feedback: from folded cascode drains only, from +/- output only and from both as in new schematic. Your choise, works great in sim whatever you deside to do. Or one my choose folded cascode or regular cascode operation as writen in service manual.

I have noticed that output impendace goes up for about 100% (from 0,75 to 1,5 Ohm) when mix feedback is used. I know there is nothing to worry about, but I would like to know why is that, 'couse I would expect to go down?

Best, a

Attachments

• a75 x-preamp v.1.0..pdf
    41.7 KB · Views: 425
The one and only
Joined 2001
Paid Member
If you mean feedback from both the "VAS" and the output,
I should imagine that by applying only 1/2 as much output
feedback, it would roughly double the output impedance,